Creating and sharing knowledge for telecommunications


  • N. Marques, JPB Barraca, A. Zúquete, ANRW.PT 2020 Prize: Best Technical Paper and IETF Relevance Mention, The Annual ISOC.PT ANR Workshop and Prize is an initiative of the Portuguese Chapter of the Internet Society (ISOC.PT) that aims to promote applied research in computer networks and Internet in Portugal, by distinguishing applied research work carried out in Portugal by advanced students or other members of the R&D community, from Portuguese Universities, Research Centers or Industrial R&D Labs. This work describes an interesting proposal for a solution that can integrate the Captive Portal paradigm, which facilitates enrolment of new network subscribers, with the standard practices of security for 802.11 networks. The contribution relies on a new EAP-compliant protocol (Extended Authentication Protocol for Secure Hotspots, EAP-SH) that bridges both approaches, providing a solution for a flexible and effective authentication framework., 01-04-2020
  • F. Meneses, C. Guimarães, D. Corujo, R. Aguiar, Best Paper Award (Mobility Track), 9th IFIP International Conference on New Technologies, Mobility & Security (NTMS 2018), for the work "SDN-based Mobility Management: Handover Performance Impact in Constrained Devices", in Paris, France, 01-02-2018
  • O. Pereira, D. Regateiro, R. Aguiar, Best paper Award, Best Paper Award at the 6th DATA (intl. Conf. on Data Science, Technology and Applications) held in Madrid. Paper: SPDC: Secure Proxied Database Connectivity, 01-07-2017
  • R. Aguiar, Best Executive Editor ETT, Prize of Best Executive Editor (five are nominated) from the Journal Emerging Telecommunication Technologies, Wiley, 01-01-2017
  • R. Aguiar, IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer, Eleito IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Lecturer para o biénio 2017-18., 01-01-2017
  • D. Corujo, C. Ferreira, A. Neto, A. Mota, F. Silva, J. Pereira, C. Guimarães, P. R. Rosa, S. Kofuji, R. Aguiar, Best Paper Award, 10th Advanced International Conference on Telecommunications (AICT-2014), IARIA, for the work “Towards a Carrier Grade SDN Controller: Integrating OpenFLow with Telecom Services”, in Paris, France, 01-07-2014
  • D. Corujo, Outstanding Young Researcher Award, IEEE ComSoc EMEA Regional Award (2014) for ​their promising research activities for the benefit of the society, 01-02-2014
  • P.T. Tavares, P. Gonçalves, J. L. Oliveira, Best paper award LANOMS 2011, 01-11-2011
  • R. Aguiar, L. Alves, Fraunhofer Challenge 2011, Won Second prize in PhD category for the best Idea in PhD thesis work for session 2010-1011, 01-10-2011
  • E. Rocha, P. Salvador, A. N. Nogueira, Best Paper, Best Paper at the MONAMI 2011 for the paper ''Classification of hidden users' profiles in wireless communications'', 01-09-2011
  • Nuno Rafael Lourenço, L. Alves, R. Aguiar, Visible Light Communication for Road Safety: Poster Award, Awarded one of the best poster award in the Engineering Category at Annual Research Day at University of Aveiro, 01-06-2011
  • E. Rocha, P. Salvador, A. N. Nogueira, Best Student Paper, Best Student Paper for the paper "Detection of Illicit Traffic based on Multiscale Analysis", 01-09-2009
  • Nuno Rafael Lourenço, R. Aguiar, Michael Spiez, Best Paper Award, IETE Gowri Memorial Award for Best Paper in Journal, 01-12-2008
  • D. Corujo, V. Jesus, S. Sargento, R. Aguiar, M. A. Almeida, N. Sénica, Best Local Student Paper, IEEE Sumposium on Computers and Communications (ISCC 2007), for the work "Mobility with Quality of Service Support for Multi-Interface Terminals: Combined User and Network Approach", Aveiro, Portugal, 01-07-2007
  • A. Neto, A Resource Reservation Protocol Supporting QoS-aware Multicast Trees for Next Generation Networks, BEST LOCAL PAPER ISCC'07, 01-06-2007